Great(ish) Expectations

Advice From A Random Stranger

Gimmick

What’s your gimmick? Having great style requires personality. You can only rely on the mannequins for so long. Right now, I’m not sure what I’m going to be focusing on for Fall 2011. But I do have an idea in mind: Orange! I have been snatching discount tanks off the rack hoping to pair them with oversized cardigans  and what not, but as for an overall style… I feel like we are moving towards a philosophy of anything goes!

Orange seems to have been a long avoided taboo in Target-budget fashionistas like me. Less of an interesting and bold statement, and more like a problem to be dealt with. I can actually remember being a closet orange fan for many years. Passing it up on the clearance racks after hearing things from my girlfriends like: “Ewe oh my god, I absolutely HATE orange. why is that even a color?”

Fighting back my art major temptation to note that “Orange is actually a mixture of red and yellow,” I would simply say in that cali girl conformity voice, “Ya totally.”

I think a lot of the orange trend this fall has to do with the fact that it has been untouched for a long time. The struggle to be unique is getting tougher and tougher as the fashion world continues to reference past generations.

So I admit it. Whenever I don’t know what particular look to go forward with in the new season, I come up with a gimmick and build from that. This fall, orange is my gimmick. Today I’m wearing a prison orange oversized tank with blue vintage porcelain beaded necklace and matching blue shoes. I don’t know, I guess I feel like being noticed. Now I just need to figure out somewhere to achieve that- maybe to the mall to buy more orange!

Forever 21 Crochet Bib Jersey

Candy Dish One Shoulder Orange Dress

Michael Kors Hamilton East West Satchel from Bag Borrow or Steal

Leave a Reply

